Select Page

West Somerset Cricket League

On September 18th 1975, a meeting was held at the Wyndham Arms in Williton to discuss the possibility of forming a local cricket league.

The meeting was called by Mike Hayes of Stogumber Cricket Club and Mike Elworthy of Huish Champflower Cricket Club, and of 24 teams invited to the meeting, representatives from 17 attended.

A general discussion followed and the outcome was the decision to form the West Somerset Cricket League.

It officially started the following summer, in 1976, and initially consisted of five local teams – Ashbrittle, Brompton Ralph, Dulverton, Huish Champflower and Stogumber. The first-ever winners of the league that season were Brompton Ralph, who were presented with the Champions’ Cup 

Within two years of its formation, another eight teams had joined the League and by 1979, the League split into two divisions with the introduction of ten more teams  The League launched its own Knockout Cup in 1981, which was open to all teams in the League, and Dulverton defeated Brompton Ralph to win the first final. The cup is still competed for each season, and, with the continued growth in the size of the League, a second competition for lower division sides – the Hinkley Point Cup – is also held.

In 1984, the League introduced a third division , and, when a fourth division was launched in 1989, the League comprised 39 teams. A year later, the League took on its current five-division format, and will contain 50 teams for the 2018 season t.The current West Somerset Cricket League Champions are Holford CC.

For more information on the West Somerset Cricket League please visit their website.