Somerset Cricket Foundation recently hosted a gala dinner to recognise the contributions of volunteers across the county game at the Grassroots Cricket Awards 2022.

Over 230 club volunteers, community programme volunteers and network partners attended the event held in the County Room at the Coopers Associates County Ground and were warmly welcomed by Somerset Cricket Foundation Managing Director, Jon Bendle, and Somerset CCC Chair, Sir Michael Barber, who spoke about the importance of the work of the Foundation and the burgeoning relationship between the County Club and the Foundation.

Presenting the trophies were Jason Kerr (Somerset CCC Head Coach), Fran Wilson (England, Western Storm & Welsh Fire), James Hildreth (Somerset) and Vic Marks (England & Somerset).  Fran and James also took part in an engaging question & answer session which focused on the importance of grassroots cricket and the volunteers that make grassroots cricket happen.

Community Programmes Manager, Steve Gass took the opportunity to explain to the room the impact of several community programmes, including Super 1s, Walking Cricket and the Wellbeing Champion Programme. Two of Steve’s volunteers went on to win awards during the evening, including Connor Hyde who articulated the importance of Super 1s in his own development as a player, coach, helper, and person.

Coaching and Schools Manager, Scott Chappell also shared the breadth and depth of the Chance to Shine school coaching programme, which engaged over 16,000 children across the county.

Finally, the Foundation took the opportunity to help Shapwick & Polden honour long time club volunteer Martin Baker, who sadly passed away earlier in the summer, by presenting his wife with the Outstanding Contribution to Cricket Award.

A huge thank you must go to all the volunteers who give their time to clubs and/or leagues. Without them, cricket would not be flourishing in Somerset. Thank you for all you do!

Congratulations to those who were nominated for an award and to all our winners who are listed below:

ECB Coach Award Winners 2022

Young coach of the year

Connor Hyde, South Somerset Bears Cricket Team

Coach of the Year

Neil Davis, Yeovil Cricket Club

Outstanding contribution – service to coaching

Hannah Hughes, Taunton Deane CC

ECB Grassroots Cricket Award Winners 2022

Connecting Communities

Winners: Broadway & Horton CC

Nominees: Broadway & Horton CC, Bridgwater CC

Growing the Game

Winner: Rachel Richards, Wells CC

Nominees: Jon Pike, Katie Ashworth, Rachel Richards, Stuart Sinnott

Rising Star

Winner: Oscar Warren, Staplegrove CC

Nominees: Alfie Inskip, Alfie Thompson, Amelia Taylor, Charlie Vigar, James Hibbert, Oscar Warren, Rio Paling, Thomas Greenway

Game Changer

Winner: Joe Martin, Long Sutton CC

Nominees: David Clarke, Hannah Morris, Jamie Pedlar, Jarrad Cave, Joe Martin, Tom Gamble, Tom Wickens

Inspired to Play

Winner: Steve Hubbard, Taunton CC

Nominees: Dave Tucker, Edgar Herridge, Ian Sturgess, John Irish, Melanie White, Steve Hubbard

Safe Hands Award

Winner: Anthony Hardwell, Knowle CC

Nominees: Amanda Counsell, Anthony Hardwell, Helen Barham, Lauren Challis, Liam Stiles, Martin Peters, Paul Martin

Volunteer Grounds Team

Winner: William Brown, Nynehead CC

Nominees: Broadway & Horton CC, Nailsea CC, Keynsham CC, Taunton CC, Nynehead CC

Cricket Innovator

Winner: Dan Van Grudgings, Clevedon CC

Nominees: Dan Van Grudgings, Edgar Harvey

Outstanding Service to Cricket

Martin Baker, Shapwick & Polden CC

Unsung Hero

Winner: Sian Sainsbury, Ilminster CC

Nominees: Alex Troake, Allister Carolussen, Caroline Welch, Chris Golding, Daniel Bingham, Daniel Pritchard, Donna Hibbert, Gary Phippen, Ginine Herridge, Harjeet Awlak, Hayley Francis, James Barham, James Stone, Jason Thorne, Lee Brun, Linda Retter, Lorna Thorne, Melvyn Gale, Nigel Day, Pascal Szczepanski, Rita Day, Roxi Davidson, Samantha Troake, Sian Sainsbury, Steve Gamble, Susie Hewitt, Wayne Hepple

Lifetime Achiever

Winner: Alan Ranger, Wombat CC
Winner: John Davey, Huntspill & District CC

Nominees: Alan Ranger, Chris Norton, Dennis Quick, Jeremy Board, John Davey, Linda Curtis, Mike Back, Nigel Mortimer, Richard Yandle, Tommy Acock